It is never a secret that after the Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich(aka ICS) official release, there were still very few Android phones sporting the newest update from Android. Released in November 2011, the new Android version had its own fans but most of their phones were still not getting the update even those of the high-end level. According to Google, ICS will now be the standard platform for both smartphone and tablets because of its new and innovative features. That’s the reason why HTC is quickly pushing and extending their work hours just to let HTC Android phone users to catch up to the latest trend to feel and taste that sandwich.

Here is the official list of phones that will receive the HTC Ice Cream Sandwich update as taken from the HTC blog. 

  • DROID Incredible 2 by HTC
  • HTC Amaze 4G
  • HTC Desire S
  • HTC Desire HD
  • HTC EVO 3D
  • HTC EVO Design 4G
  • HTC Incredible S
  • HTC Sensation
  • HTC Sensation XL
  • HTC Sensation 4G
  • HTC Sensation XE
  • HTC Raider
  • HTC Rezound
  • HTC Rhyme
  • HTC Thunderbolt
  • HTC Velocity 4G
  • HTC Vivid

As of March 14, 2012, the HTC Velocity 4G, the first 4G smartphone from Australia is the first one to receive the Ice Cream Sandwich FOTA update. The HTC Sensation line, HTC Sensation and HTC Sensation XE, will follow the update after a few more weeks as it is on its final stages of the process in rolling out the ICS. Other HTC phones will get their own update a couple of weeks later. However, we should also consider that even though HTC will start pushing those updates the availability will not be immediate as the carriers from different countries will still need to adopt and support the upgrade.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *