It’s been more than a year since the world has been on lockdown, so it’s probably safe to say that young (and old) folks will soon go back to dating. Now, Tinder is making it easier to block people they don’t want to see on its dating platform.
By Tinder’s new Block Contacts features, you can now prevent seeing people you don’t like — whether they are an old lover, co-worker, friend, or family.
According to a recent Tinder survey, over 40% of users came across their ex on the platform. 24% of respondents have seen the profile of a colleague and family member. In total, 78% of respondents said they prefer to not see, or be seen by, these offline connections in the app.
When you block people, both you and the person you block will no longer be able to see each other on the platform. Even contacts who haven’t signed up to Tinder can also be blocked.
While the new Tinder Block Contacts feature is definitely useful, it poses some concern as well. For one, it can be used to hide cheating for those who already have partners. Hopefully, it won’t be abused that way.
If you want to check it out, it can be accessed in the Tinder profile settings menu.