Apparently, Instagram is now a snitch. In a new feature, the app will now notify people when you take a screenshot of their Instagram Stories.
If you’ve been stalking someone on Instagram and you always take a screenshot of their IG Stories before it self-destructs after 24 hours, well it might be a good time to stop. As it turns out, Instagram wants you to stop being a creep by enabling the new feature.
Since the release, each time you take a screenshot of your friend’s Instagram Stories, he/she will now be informed of your actions. If you take a screenshot or even do a screen recording of their IG Stories, your name will now appear in the views list with a special icon marking beside your name.
As per our testing, the icon did appear next to my name. However, it didn’t trigger a push notification on the device. So, for as long as the one your stalking doesn’t bother to look at the views list, then you’re safe. As of now, there’s no push notification support for this new feature. However, we expect Instagram to add it in future releases.
Thankfully, Instagram is kind enough to warn its users. When you take a screenshot for the first time, a warning (pictured below) will pop-up. This way, you won’t get caught off guard by the new change.
But still, there are a lot of creative ways that you can keep other people’s Instagram Stories for more than 24 hours. We will be creating a separate article for that, so stay tuned if you keep on snooping on other people’s Instagram Stories.
But at the end of the day, let’s just be thankful that Instagram is doing what they can to address some issues about privacy.