You may not be fully aware of it, but your iPhone has a precise location feature that lets apps like navigation software, Find My, and more to discover your exact location to give you the information you need. However, did you know that someone can also be using that information in malicious ways without your knowledge?

Fortunately, there’s a way that allows you to do a Safety Check on your iPhone to prevent these unauthorized entities from tracking you.

Controlling who can access the precise location of your iPhone is really important. For some, it’s a matter of life and death, especially in a domestic abuse situation. Today, we’ll detail all the things you should know about this feature. Let’s begin.

Related

What is Safety Check?

Safety Check will let you see who you are sharing your location information with, reset system privacy permissions for apps, restrict Messages and FaceTime, change your Apple ID password, change your passcode, and more.

It also allows you to instantly disable location sharing on your iPhone and prevent all apps and people on your phone from knowing where you are.

Is Safety Check available on my iPhone?

The Safety Check feature was first introduced on iOS 16. That said, make sure you’re running on the latest version. To check, go to Settings > About > Software.

Also, bear in mind that the iOS 16 update is available from iPhone SE 3rd gen and iPhone 8 or later only. If you’re using an older iPhone, the feature may not be available.

Make sure you have a personal Apple ID with two-factor authentication turned on as well.

How to run Safety Check on my iPhone?

Step 1: Go to Settings.

Safety-Check-iPhone-5231

Step 2: Tap Privacy & Security.

Safety-Check-iPhone-5232

Step 3: Scroll down and click Security Check.

Safety-Check-iPhone-5233

Step 4: You can hit Emergency Reset to quickly stop apps and people from tracking your location. This disables location-sharing on Find My, privacy settings on all apps will be reset, and Messages and FaceTime will be limited to the device in your hand.

You can also tap Manage Sharing & Access to check, review, and remove the people or apps that have access to your location.

See also: How to secretly track someone’s location using an iPhone


These are the things you should know regarding the Safety Check feature on iOS available on iPhones. Hopefully, you’ll never have to use it, but at least you know where it is when the time comes.



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *