Monster Hunter Now was just recently released to a global audience. Despite being in development for four years, per Niantic CEO John Hanke, the game is understandably incomplete, following a live-service model. This meant that the game was expected to get more content over time, similar to Niantic’s other existing titles, like the widely beloved Pokemon GO.

Monster list

Upon its release, Monster Hunter Now comes with only a fraction of the franchise’s collective bestiary. More specifically, there would only be 13 of them, with more soon coming along the way. Spoiler alert, though, the following lists the entire roster that came alongside the game’s worldwide debut:

  • Rathian
  • Rathalos
  • Diablos
  • Legiana
  • Anjanath
  • Jyuratodus
  • Paolumu
  • Barroth
  • Great Girros
  • Tobi-Kadachi
  • Pukei-Pukei
  • Kulu-Ya-Ku
  • Great Jagras

New monster releases

As much as Pokemon GO has undergone development over the years, following the aforementioned live-service model, so, too, will Monster Hunter Now. Apart from the fact that only 13 are making an appearance from the start, which barely covers the entirety of the series’ monster list, Capcom and Niantic also promised that new monsters will also be introduced. The updates will roll out seasonally, which means once every quarter in the yearly calendar.

Whether by “new” the co-developers are insinuating a completely new monster design or not, it’s still uncertain for now. But if so, players can anticipate not only never-before-seen models or a revamped version of an existing monster but also new weapons and equipment based on those monsters.

But knowing Niantic, which was pivotal in introducing new Pokemon, Meltan and Melmetal, to the franchise as its creation, it is not unlikely that it could do the same with Monster Hunter Now. Likely, it is just a matter of what.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *