Vivo-S1-Pro-Philippines-Banner-NoypiGeeks

, ,

Facebook brings “Snooze” button to mute friends, pages, and groups for 30 days

Facebook-Snooze-NoypiGeeks

“Seeing too many photos of your uncle’s new cat? Is your friend tempting you with endless photos of ramen on her Japan trip? It turns out, you’re not alone.”

This was written on the Facebook announcement post by Facebook Product Manager Shruthi Muraleedharan, hinting at what is about to come to Facebook.

A new “useful” feature is coming to Facebook, one that removes daily updates and posts from your News Feed 30 days at a time. The Snooze button, which had been tested last September, is finally coming to all the users of the social media giant.

how-to-use-facebook-snooze

It can be seen at the top-right drop-down menu and, if activated, will mute the updates of a friend, a page, or a group for a month (30 days). Just like every feature button on Facebook, the Snooze button joins the ranks of the See First, Unfollow, Hide and Report button on Facebook.

Read next: You can now do PayMaya and GCash transactions inside FB Messenger

The good thing about the Snooze button is that you don’t have to unfriend or unfollow their accounts. You simply have to activate it and your news feed will be much filtered than before. Surely, someone on your friend’s list posts a lot of stuff about their political beliefs, daily routines, and other irrelevant stuff that you do not need to see, perfect for the snooze button.

For those who just want to tone down the posts in a group or page you’re a part of, hitting the snooze button will give them the peace they’re looking for without the need to leave the group, only to join again in the future. One of the advantages Snooze button is that you get a notification from Facebook once your snooze is about to expire, giving you considerable amount of time to continue it or end it.

See also: How to deactivate or permanently delete your Facebook account

The creation of the Snooze button came from the changes that happened to those on Facebook. While some users are able to control and minimize what they share on their accounts, there are those who got too comfortable in sharing their thoughts and ideas through Facebook. It isn’t a bad thing per se, but not everyone wants to see or know about what’s going on in their lives, or their heads. The Snooze button will set a person free from unfollowing someone, but give them the same benefit of the said button.

This doesn’t change the fact that it will still be better to unfollow someone or something if the posts only clutter your News Feed. With the Snooze button, you’ll give yourself time to breathe from your friend’s personality quizzes, cat video updates, and many more.

Source: Facebook

Comments

Leave a Reply

Loading…